contrapunkt: NONO 90 – The Minguet Quartett at the Art Library

February 28, 2014 Event date: 19.00 to 22.00

On Friday, February 28, 2014, starting at 7 pm, contrapunkt / new art music, the St. Gallen Forum für neue Musik, is guest in the Sitterwerk. Established in 1987, contrapunkt – which became an association in 1992 – promotes the dissemination of contemporary music on a regional as well as international level with concerts and other activities.  In the program of the current contrapunkt season, it will be possible on this evening to listen to the Minguet Quartett from Cologne playing Luigi Nono’s sole string quartet «Fragmente – Stille, an Diotim» as well as works by Johannes Ockeghem, Giuseppe Verdi, and Ludwig van Beethoven.

Luigi Nono (1924–1990) was – in addition to Luigi Dallapiccola and Bruno Maderna – one of the pioneering sound artists in post-fascist Italy after World War II who regarded serial techniques as a musical language of resistance and made such techniques the means of expression for a realistic, politically aware, and at the same time «avant-garde» art. In contrast to other important proponents of the serial in the nineteen-fifties such as Karlheinz Stockhausen or Pierre Boulez, Nono had other focuses [...] He openly advocated for the communist party and addressed his political stance in his music again and again. «Fragmente – Stille, an Diotima», which was created between July 1979 and January 1980, however, seemed to set another course. Although Nono himself denied any rejection of political commitment, he nonetheless did concede a re-orientation. [...] Nono saw himself as a wayfarer journeying into the unknown. He created islands of sound that are intricate in themselves; he was interested in «bewegte Klänge» (moving sounds) with shimmering atmosphere – in the self-conception of sounds that, according to Friedrich Hölderlin, «aspire to the delicate tones of innermost life» [...] He elevated Hölderlin to become the field of force and point of focus in the quartet. At more than fifty points, he noted fragments from Hölderlin’s poems, twelve of them from «Diotima» (1796), whose first lines are: «Lange tot und tief verschlossen / Grüsst mein Herz die schöne Welt.» [...] (Text by Egbert Hiller, from the contrapunkt invitation)

The Minguet Quartett was established in 1988 and its current lineup consists of Ulrich Isfort (violin 1), Annette Reisinger (violin 2), Aroa Sorin (viola), and Matthias Diener (violoncello). It is named after Pablo Minguet, a Spanish philosopher of the eighteenth century who endeavored in his writings to give a broader population access to the fine arts – the idea that is also the basis for the artistic program of the Minguet Quartett.

7 pm: Introduction by Dr. Egbert Hiller, Cologne
8 pm: Concert with the Minguet Quartett, Cologne
Bar open in-between and after the concert

Tickets at the box office (no advance booking)
Admission: Fr. 30.– (members: Fr. 20.– / children, trainees, students, without means: Fr. 5.–)

complete program
webpage contrapunkt