Please wait
Sunday, 30.10.2022 – 05.02.2023
Multiple Groups

OK Computer—Languages of Order

When looking things up in card indexes and entering terms in search fields, language is always a hurdle. Are we looking for ceramic, porcelain, or slip casting? Is the artist a sculptor, painter, or visual artist? Does “stone” stand for the material—or for the Oliver with the same last name? What’s the name of the technique in which colored plaster is mixed in and sanded? Sometimes we have a hard time finding what we are looking for simply because we don’t know the terminology.

Entering keywords in a catalogue and how they are assigned and used is a highly standardized matter that, strictly speaking, already determines the results of our search, perhaps even before we know exactly what we are looking for. With the exhibition, we set off on a search for other modes of cataloguing, archiving, and organizing, and interrogate the role that vocabulary or language plays in this process. Can software and artificial intelligence perhaps support us in this?

The exhibition OK Computer—Languages of Order brings together positions that deal with the topic of naming and organizing by means of language in various ways: from very personally developed strategies of order to technical utopias and attempts to have the computer write the vocabulary for the catalogue.

With contributions by Mariabruna Fabrizi and Fosco Lucarelli, Urs Hofer, Rudolf Hostettler, and Jürg Lehni.
Sitterwerk Foundation

Opening, Sunday, October 30, 2–5 p.m.
February 5: Closing of the exhibition with the final event, “The Annotated Library” (working title), with contributions et al. by Urs Hofer, Jürg Lehni, Mindy Seu, and the TETI Group.

The exhibition is supported by Kanton St.Gallen Kulturförderung / Swisslos, Ria & Arthur Dietschweiler Stiftung, Walter und Verena Spühl Stiftung, Methrom Stiftung, Dr. Fred Styger Stiftung, and Billwiller Stiftung.

Bitte warten
Sonntag, 30.10.2022 – 05.02.2023
Mehrere Bereiche

OK Computer – Sprachen der Ordnung

Beim Nachschlagen in Zettelkästen und Wörter-Eingeben in Suchfeldern steht uns immer die Sprache im Weg. Suchen wir nach Keramik, Porzellan oder Schlickerguss? Ist die Künstlerin eine Plastikerin, bildende Künstlerin oder Bildhauerin? Steht ’Stein’ für das Material – oder für Gertrude mit dem gleichen Nachnamen? Wie heisst schon wieder diese Technik, wo eingefärbter Gips vermischt und geschliffen wird? Manchmal finden wir kaum, wonach wir suchen, weil wir die Terminologie nicht kennen.

Die Erfassung im Katalog, die Vergabe und Nutzung von Schlagworten ist eine stark normierte Angelegenheit, die genaugenommen unsere Suchresultate schon bestimmt, bevor wir vielleicht genau wissen, wonach wir suchen. Mit der Ausstellung begeben wir uns auf die Suche nach anderen Modi des Katalogisierens, des Archivierens und Ordnens und befragen, welche Rolle dem Vokabular, der Sprache in diesem Prozess zukommt. Kann uns hier gar Software und künstliche Intelligenz unterstützen?

Die Ausstellung OK Computer — Sprachen der Ordnung führt Positionen zusammen, die auf unterschiedliche Weise das Thema des Benennens und Ordnens durch Sprache verhandeln: von ganz persönlich entwickelten Ordnungsstrategien zu Technikutopien und Versuchen, das Vokabular für den Katalog von Rechnern schreiben zu lassen.

Mit Beiträgen von Mariabruna Fabrizi und Fosco Lucarelli, Urs Hofer, Rudolf Hostettler und Jürg Lehni.

Für mehr Informationen zur Ausstellung siehe Saalblatt zum Download am Ende der Seite.

Stiftung Sitterwerk

Eröffnung 30. Oktober, 14–17 Uhr, 15 Uhr Einführung in die Ausstellung

Abschlussveranstaltung, 5. Februar, «The annotated Library», u.a. mit Beiträgen von Urs Hofer, Jürg Lehni, Mindy Seu und TETI Group
Mehr Informationen folgen

Die Ausstellung wird unterstützt durch Kanton St.Gallen Kulturförderung / Swisslos, Ria & Arthur Dietschweiler Stiftung, Walter und Verena Spühl Stiftung, Methrom Stiftung, Dr. Fred Styger Stiftung und Billwiller Stiftung.