Please wait
Sunday, 23.08.2020 – 31.10.2020
Multiple Groups

HOWTO—An exhibition on production processes in instructive videos

How is a window profile produced from a block of aluminum? Why are paving stones always similar but never exactly the same? How is a flanging device used? How is a disco ball made? Anyone who has occupied themselves with the making of things eventually arrives at a situation where good advice is expensive. Traditionally, experience helps, and perhaps the memory of training or an illustration in a handbook. But ever more often, a possible answer to nearly every question, to almost every “How does that work?” can be found in a video on the internet.

With the exhibition Howto, we have dedicated ourselves to the phenomenon of videos that attempt to explain extremely complex industrial processes or handwork tricks. In ten videos put together by guests, ten different processes are each illustrated and interpreted in their own way. The contributions show the entire spectrum of historical, contemporary, professional, and amateur film material, and pursue free associations as well as a fascination with industry and technology.

At the same time, we have also dedicated ourselves to this topic quite pragmatically and, in the long term, would like to be able to illustrate individual processes precisely with videos or animations and thus enrich the collections in the Sitterwerk with the element of moving pictures. The exhibition thus also contains a workstation with which an initial collection of videos and sequences of pictures have been laid out as a field of experimentation. It should ultimately serve as a basis for further developing the documentation of processes that will supplement the holdings of books and materials in the near future.

With contributions by
Michael Bodenmann
Eva Brugger
Digital workshop of the Kunstgiesserei St. Gallen
Eisenbibliothek
Roman Gysin
Michael Marriott
Ralph Michel
Emanuel Signer and Seraina Winzeler
Susanne Triller
Christa Wyss

With works by
Raphael Hefti
Camille Henrot
Elizabeth Price

Opening
Saturday, August 22, starting at 6 p.m.
Welcome at 6:30 p.m.
Films by Raphael Hefti, Camille Henrot, and Elizabeth Price at 7:30 p.m.

Further events
Thursday, October 22, 6:30 p.m.
HOWTO—An evening with brief presentations on the genre of functional films

Friday, October 30, 6:30 p.m.
A lecture evening with the filmmaker Fred van der Kooij
‘Dann wollen wir der Musik mal Dampf machen. Zur Mechanisierung des Orchesters’

In order to be able to comply with the protective measures in connection with Covid-19, we ask you to register for the Opening and individual events: post@sitterwerk.ch

With the friendly support of: the Arnold Billwiller Stiftung, the Federal Office of Culture, the Dr. Georg and Josi Guggenheim Foundation, the Cultural Department of the Canton of St. Gallen / Swisslos, the Metrohm Foundation, the Dr. Fred Styger Foundation

Graphic Design: Data-Orbit, St.Gallen
Scenography: Johannes Stieger, Lukas Brusch
Video Editing: Jiri Makovec

Bitte warten
Sonntag, 23.08.2020 – 31.10.2020
Mehrere Bereiche

HOWTO – Eine Ausstellung zu Herstellungsprozessen in instruktiven Videos

Wie wird aus einem Block Aluminium ein Fensterprofil? Weshalb sind Pflastersteine immer ähnlich, aber nie genau gleich? Wie benutzt man ein Bördelgerät? Wie macht man eine Disco-Kugel? Wer sich in irgendeiner Weise mit dem Machen von Sachen beschäftigt, gerät früher oder später in eine Situation, wo guter Rat teuer ist. Traditionell hilft die Erfahrung, vielleicht die Erinnerung an die Ausbildung oder eine Illustration in einem Handbuch. Immer häufiger jedoch, gibt es zu fast jeder Frage, zu fast jedem ‘Wie geht das?’ eine mögliche Antwort in einem Video im Internet.

Mit der Ausstellung Howto widmen wir uns dem Phänomen der Videos, die versuchen uns die komplexesten industriellen Abläufe oder Handwerks-Tricks zu erklären. In zehn von Gästen zusammengestellten Videos werden zehn verschiedene Verfahren auf je eigene Art illustriert und interpretiert. Die Beiträge zeigen die ganze Bandbreite an historischen, zeitgenössischen, professionellen, amateurischen Filmmaterial und folgen freien Assoziationen genauso wie der Faszination für Industrie und Technik.

Wir widmen uns dem Thema aber auch ganz pragmatisch und möchten längerfristig einzelne Verfahren präzise mit Videos oder Animationen illustrieren können und so die Sammlungen im Sitterwerk um das Element der laufenden Bilder anreichern. Die Ausstellung beinhaltet deshalb auch eine Arbeitsstation, mit der als Versuchsfeld eine erste Sammlung von Videos und Bildabfolgen angelegt wird. Diese soll schliesslich als Grundlage zur Weiterentwicklung der Prozessdokumentation dienen, die den Buch- und Materialbestand künftig ergänzen wird.

Mit Beiträgen von
Michael Bodenmann
Eva Brugger
Digitale Werkstatt der Kunstgiesserei St. Gallen
Eisenbibliothek
Roman Gysin
Michael Marriott
Ralph Michel
Emanuel Signer und Seraina Winzeler
Susanne Triller
Christa Wyss

Mit Arbeiten von
Raphael Hefti
Camille Henrot
Elizabeth Price

Vernissage
Samstag, 22. August, ab 18 Uhr
Begrüssung um 18.30 Uhr
Filme von Raphael Hefti, Camille Henrot und Elizabeth Price, um 19.30 Uhr

Weitere Veranstaltungen
Donnerstag, 22. Oktober, 18.30 Uhr
HOWTO – ein Abend mit kurzen Präsentationen zur Gattung des Gebrauchsfilms

PROGRAMMÄNDERUNG:
Der Filmbeitrag «Dann wollen wir der Musik mal Dampf machen. Zur Mechanisierung des Orchesters.» von Fred van der Kooij, Filmemacher, Zürich, findet nicht wie angekündigt als Vortrag am 30. Oktober statt, sondern wird Online zugänglich gemacht.

Um die Schutzmassnahmen bezüglich Covid-19 einhalten zu können, bitten wir Sie, sich für die Vernissage und die einzelnen Veranstaltungen anzumelden: post@sitterwerk.ch

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von: Arnold Billwiller Stiftung, Bundesamt für Kultur, Dr. Georg und Josi Guggenheim-Stiftung, Kanton St. Gallen Kulturförderung / Swisslos, Metrohm Stiftung, Dr. Fred Styger Stiftung

Grafik Design: Data-Orbit, St.Gallen
Szenografie: Johannes Stieger, Lukas Brusch
Technik, Schnitt: Jiri Makovec